Social media represents a cross section of the world. There are good people, bad people and mostly a mixture of all. Most of them may not even have a vague idea about the social etequette that they are required to follow.
There are cases when we really want to block a person from accessing your profile. May be if you break up with someone or when someone is really turning into a nuisance.
Some of the questions we generally ask ourselves is:
- How to block a Facebook ‘friend’ from contacting me on facebook or accessing my profile?
- How to stop Facebook Apps from sending invites to me?
- How to block an App, such as Astrology App, from posting to your timeline?
- How do I restrict some friends from seeing my friends-only posts?
- How to blocka page from messaging me?
Right, we can solve all these questions in the Manage Blocking section of facebook Settings.
How to Block or Unblock or Restrict a User / App / Event / Page
Logon to Facebook -> Settings -> Blocking section.
Direct link to Blocking section : https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=blocking
Block a User
Once you block someone, that person can no longer see things you post on your timeline, tag you, invite you to events or groups, start a conversation with you, or add you as a friend.
Add to Restricted list
If you just want to have some of your Facebook friends to only see the information and posts that you make public, add them to the Restricted List. Facebook does not notify your friends when you add them to your Restricted list.
In some other cases, our friends, without really knowing what’s happening, sends Facebook App Invites to play games such as CityVille, FarmVille and Candy Crush Saga. When we keep receiving such invites very often, it may need to block it for ever.
When you block or remove an app or game from the App Center or your app settings, they’ll no longer be able to access any info about you.
Block App Invites
Once you block app invites from someone, you’ll automatically ignore future app requests from that friend. To block invites from a specific friend, click the “Ignore All Invites From This Friend” link under your latest request.
Once you block a Page, that Page can no longer interact with your posts or like or reply to your comments. You’ll be unable to post to the Page’s Timeline or message the Page. If you currently like the Page, blocking it will also unlike and unfollow it.
Block event invites
Once you block event invites from someone, you’ll automatically ignore future event requests from that friend.
Be the first to comment