Facts About Indian Languages

While reading about IDN Implementation in India, I came across this interesting facts about India, thought of sharing with teck.in readers.

While China has 1.6 billion Chinese language speakers, with two scripts and shared characters with Japanese & Korean, Indian has more than 22 official languages.

22 Official Languages (Not Dialects)

  • Devanagari script based (North Indian): Hindi, Marathi, Sanskrit, Kashmiri, Sindhi, Nepali, Manipuri
  • Dravidian script based (South Indian): Tamil, Telugu, Kannada, Malayalam, Konkani
  • Arabic Script Based: Urdu
  • Other script based: Bengali, Oriya, Gujarati, Punjabi, Assamese

Worldwide Audience:
Hindi – 400 Million Speakers
Bengali – 200 Million Speakers
Tamil – 60 Million Speakers
Telugu – 70 Million Speakers

Schools teach in 58 different languages
Newspapers publish in 87 languages
Radio programmes broadcast in 71 languages
Movies released in 15 languages

It’s worth just knowing about languages in India. Our Arsha Bharatha Samskaram is so great to keep our unity in diversity.

You may also be interested in reading India – Truth Alone Triumphs.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply