Remove / Block Facial Recognition in Facebook

Facebook LogoFacebook has recently rolled out a feature that recognizes your face in photos, prompting your friends to tag you usingĀ facial recognition technique.

Facebook users in the United States have had this feature since it was first announced in December. During the beta release, there was no setting to opt-out of appearing in tag suggestions but in stable release you can opt-out this feature.

According to Facebook, this facial recognition feature uses a comparison of photos you’re tagged in to suggest that friends tag you in new photos. The site says that this feature is intended to save you time: Instead of tagging the same friends in 25 photos you just uploaded, you can now apply one label to multiple photos in one step.

Facebook reiterates that only friends can tag you in photos, you’ll be notified when someone has tagged you, you can remove a tag whenever you want and that tag suggestions are based only on photos you’ve allowed yourself to be tagged in.

Facebook Facial Recognition: How to Opt Out

[advt]Facebook has automatically opted you in to this new facial recognition feature, which means your friends will see suggestions of photos in which to tag you, unless you change the setting.

To turn off this feature, go to “Account ,” then “Privacy Settings” and select “Customize settings.” In the second section, “Things others share,” click “Edit Settings” next to “Suggest photos of me to friends.” Then, change the setting from Enabled to Disabled.

Note: If you disable this feature, friends can still manually tag you in photos.

How to Remove Your Summary Information from Facebook

Facebook requires two types of information in order to automatically suggest that a newly uploaded photo looks like someone who’s been tagged on Facebook before.

The first is information about photos you’re tagged in. For example, when you’re tagged in a photo, Facebook associates the tags with your account, compares what these tagged photos have in common and stores a summary of this comparison.

The second type of information compares your new photos to stored information about photos you’re tagged in. So, when you or your friends upload photos, they may be compared automatically to the summary information Facebook stores about what your tagged photos have in common. The result of this comparison may also be used to group photos or suggest that photos look like you.

To remove the summary information stored about you for tag suggestions, you must contact the Facebook Photos Team. To do this, visit the Facebook Help CenterĀ here, scroll to and expand the very last question on the page, and click the “contact us” link.

A pop-up box will appear to send an automated request to the Facebook Photo Team. Click “Okay” to submit your request. [source]

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*