Facebook is the famous social networking website founded by Mark Zuckerberg and launched in February 2004. Initially, the membership was only allotted to Harvard students and then extended to Boston, the Ivy League and Standford University. Facebook allows you to chat, store pictures, send messages to friends and update your status. Now Facebook is available to everyone all over the world. Recently Facebook.com grabbed the number one ranking in the Social Networking category in India, with 20.9 million visitors.
Facebook gives users the options to deactivate, reactivate and to permanently delete the account. Until you are very much sure that you want to permanently delete the account and all related information, you may temporarily “deactivate” your Facebook account, which hides your information from Facebook. When you “deactivate”, all your personal data, including photos, interests, friends etc will still be saved indefinitely. If you want, you will be able to reactivate the account later.
Deactivate Facebook Account Temporarily
If you deactivate your account from the “Deactivate Account” section on the Account page, your profile and all information associated with it are immediately made inaccessible to other Facebook users. What this means is that you effectively disappear from the Facebook service. However, if you want to reactivate at some point, Facebook do save your profile information (friends, photos, interests, etc.), and your account will look just the way it did when you deactivated if you decide to reactivate it. Many users deactivate their accounts for temporary reasons and expect their information to be there when they return to the service.
Delete Facebook Account Permanently
Please keep in mind that after the permanent deletion of your Facebook account, you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would like your account permanently deleted with no option for recovery, log in to your account and then submit your request as instructed below.
If you have made the final decision to permanently delete your Facebook account, follow the link below.
If you do not think you will use Facebook again and would like your account deleted, we can take care of this for you. Keep in mind that you will not be able to reactivate your account or retrieve any of the content or information you have added. If you would like your account deleted, then click “Submit.”
Click “Submit” and follow the instructions.
Facebook asks your confirmation, “You are about to permanently delete your account. Are you sure?” Confirm positively.
Your account has been deactivated from the site and will be permanently deleted within 14 days. If you log into your account within the next 14 days, you will have the option to cancel your request.
That means, your account will be deactivated for 14 days, and if you do not interact with Facebook in any way during that period, your account will be permanently deleted.
If you do not log in to Facebook using any client (like the iPhone app, Pidgin, etc.), do not click embedded Like buttons on websites, do not log in to other services using Facebook Connect etc., you account will be permanently deleted. You may delete all your browsing/forms history and cookies as well, just to make sure that you don’t accidentally use your FB account in other websites.
With this option, you don’t need to delete photos, comments, messages or items from your profile or anywhere else on Facebook. This single delete will take care of all.
Account Abuse / Password reset
If someone has stolen your identity or if you are subject to any other form of “account abuse“, try this form: http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=fake_profile or send an email, explaining your problem, to [email protected] .
If you are currently unable to access your account, you will need to reset your password in order to log in, and then deactivate or delete the account. In order to do so, click the “Forgot your password?” link that appears above the field where you would normally enter your password. Once you’ve followed the instructions to reset your password and can log in, you can deactivate or delete your account using the steps outlined above.