Ranji Trophy Live Streaming at BCCI.TV – Watch Cricket Online

bcci-logowww.bcci.tv, the official website of BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) broadcasts live streaming of Ranji Trophy cricket match.

Most of the teams playing in the Ranji Trophy represent states of India; there are three teams that represent individual cities (Mumbai, Baroda and Hyderabad) and two teams based in Delhi but with no regional affiliations (Railways and Services). Moreover, teams representing regions within a state also participate (Saurashtra and Vidarbha).

The Ranji Trophy, the domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between different city and state sides, is equivalent to the County Championship in England and the Sheffield Shield in Australia. The competition is named after Kumar Shri Ranjitsinhji (Jam Sahib of Nawanagar, also known as “Ranji”).

The competition was launched as “The Cricket Championship of India” following a meeting of the Board of Control for Cricket in India in July 1934, with the first fixtures taking place in 1934–35. The trophy was donated by Maharaja Bhupinder Singh of Patiala. The first Ranji Trophy Championship was won by Bombay after they defeated North India in the final. [source]

The winners and runners-up of the recent years are:

S.No Season Winners Runnersup
1 2010-11 Rajasthan Baroda
2 2009-10 Mumbai Karnataka
3 2008-09 Mumbai Uttar Pradesh
4 2007-08 Delhi Uttar Pradesh
5 2006-07 Mumbai Bengal

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply