What’s the difference between archiving a conversation and deleting a conversation from Messages?
Archiving a conversation will hide it from your messages view, while deleting a conversation from Messages permanently removes the entire conversation and its history.
How to archive a conversation from Messages?
To archive a conversation, simply click the “x” next to the conversation. The conversation’s history will be preserved, and you will still be able to find it later. If the same person sends you a new message later, the archived conversation will reappear, and the new message will be added to it.
How to permanently delete a conversation from Messages?
To permanently delete a conversation from your messages, simply open the conversation, then select “Delete” from the Actions drop-down menu. All of the conversation history will be permanently cleared from your messages.
Can I delete an individual message from a conversation?
At this time, you cannot delete an individual message from a conversation. You can, however, archive or permanently delete an entire conversation.